13.7 C
Kawartha Lakes
Saturday, April 20, 2024
No menu items!
HomeHealth and LifestyleKawartha Lakes residents honoured by Canadian Mental Health Association

Kawartha Lakes residents honoured by Canadian Mental Health Association

KAWARTHA LAKES-The Canadian Mental Health Association Haliburton, Kawartha, Pine Ridge honoured three Kawartha Lakes residents at their Annual General Meeting in September.

The Naresh James Award recognizes an individual who has championed critical issues and who has achieved lasting impact in support of those who live with mental illness. The 2017 Naresh James Award was presented to Judy Dickson. Dickson was part of a steering committee in the mid 80’s that eventually founded the CMHA Victoria County Branch of CMHA and served as the Board President from 1988 to 1990. Since that time she has been tireless in her determination to help those needing mental health services to find help.  Judy has also served on the board of CMHA HKPR since it’s amalgamation with Victoria County/Kawartha Lakes CMHA in 2013.

Tim being presented his award by staff member Jennifer Bergman.

The Achievement Through Adversity Award, recognizing an individual who has shown continued courage and tenacity to reach their goals and who is a role model to others on a journey to a healthy life, was presented to Tim Parson, a volunteer at REACH for Recovery in Lindsay for his support of his peers at the REACH Centre.

The last award recipient from the Kawartha Lakes area was Robert Chomko, receiving the Maurice Lovnes Award. This award is presented to an individual who, through volunteerism, exemplifies Vision, Dedication, Caring, Support and Commitment. Chomko was recognized with this award thanks to his dedication over 2014 to 2016 helping to refurbish over 100 bicycles, donated from the community, to provide transportation and exercise to clients of CMHA HKPR who otherwise would be on foot. He was unable to attend the AGM, so will be presented his award at a later date.

Other awards presented over the evening included the CMHA Ontario Distinguished Service Award to Margaret Seaton (past Board Member) and Jim, Mary Jane and Daniel Rainey (volunteers). The Caregiver Champion of Mental Health to Helen Lackey. The Tam Grant Memorial Bursary to Adam Grearson and the Champion of Mental Health Award to Rob Seguin – station manager at Wolf101.5/Fresh100.5.

Congratulations to all the winners!


Don't forget to sign up for our morning newsletter.

Catch up on all the local news while enjoying your coffee.

Pamela Vanmeer
Pamela Vanmeerhttps://www.kawartha411.ca/
Pamela VanMeer is a two time winner of the prestigious Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) Award. Her investigative reports on abuse in Long Term Care Homes garnered international attention for the issue and won the Ron Laidlaw Award. She is a former reporter and anchor at CHEX News, now Global Peterborough and helped launch the New CHEX Daily, a daily half hour talk show. While at CHCH News in Hamilton she covered some of the biggest news stories of the day.

Most Popular

Kawartha 411