Ontario Municipal Board approves ward boundary changes in the City of Kawartha Lakes


KAWARTHA LAKES-There will be new ward boundaries in place for the next election the City of Kawartha Lakes.

The Ontario Municipal Board has confirmed Council’s decision to establish 8 new wards within the City of Kawartha Lakes, effective the next term of Council. The new wards will have one Councillor elected for each ward and a Mayor elected city-wide.

In March, council decided to go with eight wards in 2018, each represented by one council member. Charles Scheffel of Sebright in Ward 1 appealed the ward boundary changes to the Ontario Municipal Board. Scheffel disagreed with the method council used to determine the new boundaries. He was concerned there would not be effective representation for all areas especially sparsely populated areas due to the variance percentage for populations that the task force used to determine the new boundaries.

The Ontario Municipal Board stated that the City was “thorough, methodical, complete, transparent and consistent” in adhering to the Terms of Reference and the established methodology for the Ward Boundary Review.

The City’s new website offers an interactive map showing the 8 new wards. The map allows users to enter their address to see which ward they are located in. Visit www.kawarthalakes.ca/wardboundaries.

The next municipal election takes place on October 22, 2018.